£9.99

April 27, 2009

I feel silly writing this post. But since this blog is anonymous, well then, so what? One of the blessings of having the Internet in our lives. Bless technology. Take this technology haters and all you nature maniacs.

(I love nature, btw, nature rocks, kicks ass!, *hugs a tree*)

It’s a Sainsbury’s coffee presser. I’ve been wanting one for a while. Sounds nice, doesn’t  it? A cup of filtered coffee in the early morning. Hopefully a sunny early morning, today is raining, how depressing.

It was worth £9.99

I couldn’t afford it.

I wanted it. And I picked that one in particular because it was the cheapest. But still, I can’t! If I spend £9.99, I’m not going to be able to do anything for the rest of this month, I will practically be penniless. Not in the full sense, because I do have money in the bank, but that money is devided into equal portions for the next 4 months, and this month’s portion does not allow me to buy a £9.99 coffee presser.

This is the embarrassing part.

I felt really sorry for myself!

I mean, maybe, just maybe, I would have been able to afford it if I didn’t buy the iPhone last year? or if I wasn’t wearing an £ 80 coat? Or if I wasn’t wearing Converse shoes? If my jumper was from Primark instead of Abercrombie and Fitch? If I maybe bought my sheets from Woolsworths instead of Ikea?

Yes, I felt so sorry for myself I even got teary-eyes, how pathetic?

And then I realized, we’ve never really had to taste this feeling, did we? You know, the kind of feeling you get when you wanted a toy so bad as a child and your parent said a plain and simple “no”, no matter how hard you cried. We never experience that as adults, do we?

I can’t believe I felt sorry for myself.

I was warm, I was carrying a bag full of fresh clean food, water, and I have a dry room and a warm bed, a computer to blog from, enough clothes to dress a play cast, a phone, and I felt sorry for myself?

How dare I?!

2 Responses to “£9.99”

  1. exquisite Says:

    a7bch. i would give u all the stars in the sky if i could.


Leave a Reply

